HOLIDAYS

Home » Worship » Holidays

Coming together to celebrate.

Join us as we observe, honor, and rejoice in spiritual and cultural holidays throughout the year — just as our fore-fathers and ‑mothers have done for hundreds of generations.

Our High Holiday services begin with Selichot and continue through Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. Following services on the first day of Rosh Hashanah, the congregation heads to nearby Owen Fish Park for a moving Tashlich ceremony.

Welcome Sukkot with us in our spacious Sukkah where we hold all Sukkot programs (weather permitting). From early childhood through adulthood, everyone can enjoy the many blessings of our Sukkah, and all generations have the opportunity to shake the lulav and etrog. And just a week later, join us as we rejoice over the Torah during a jubilant Simchat Torah service filled with song & dance.

Light the candles with us on Hanukkah to celebrate the season. Then come in costume to our unforgettable Purim service in which we read the entire Megillah and perform the annual Purim schpiel. Join your entire synagogue family for the Second Seder on Pesach when we retell the story of our exodus from Egypt, act out the plagues (mini-marshmallows for number seven!), and share traditional foods and Seder traditions together.

In late spring we celebrate Shavuot— the anniversary of the day God gave the Torah to the entire Israelite nation assembled at Mount Sinai — and get ready to do it all over again.

HOLIDAY SCHEDULE

Purim

Monday, March 9, 2020:
Megillah Reading & Costume Parade
TBA
Tuesday, March 10, 2020:
Megillah Reading
7:30 am

Passover

Wednesday, April 8, 2020:
1st Seder at home
No evening services.
Thursday, April 9, 2020:
Community 2nd Seder at Beth El
TBA
Thursday, April 16, 2020 10 am
Yizkor 11:15 am

Shavuot

Friday, May 29, 2020 10 am
Saturday, May 30, 2020 10 am
Yizkor 11:15 am

Tisha B’av

(Erev) Wednesday, July 29, 2020 TBA
Thursday, July 30, 2020 TBA

Selichot

Saturday, September 12, 2020
with Havdalah, Speaker, Service, Refreshments.
TBA

Cemetery Service

Sunday, September 13, 2020 TBA at Reid Street, Fairfield

Rosh Hashanah

(Erev) Sunday, September 18, 2020 TBA
(First Day) Monday, September 19, 2020 9 am
– Family Service (ages 2-7) 10 am
– Junior Congregation (grades 3-6) 11 am
– Tashlich Service Following morning services at Owen Fish Park, Fairfield.
(Second Day) Tuesday, September 20, 2020 9 am
Family Service (Ages 2-7) 10 am
– Junior Congregation (Grades 3-6) 11 am

Shabbat Shuvah / Ha’azinu

Friday, September 25, 2020 6 pm
Saturday, September 26, 2020 10 am
Children’s Service 10:30 am

Kol Nidre

Sunday, September 27, 2020 TBA

Yom Kippur

Monday, September 28 2020 9 am
– Family Service (Ages 2-7) 10:30 am
– Junior Congregation 11:30 am
– Teen Forum (Grades 7-12) 12:30 pm
– Afternoon Forum TBA
– Plaque Dedication TBA
– Yizkor TBA
– Mincha TBA
– Neilah TBA
– Havdalah and Break Fast TBA

Sukkot

Saturday, October 3, 2020 10 am
Children’s Service (preschool age) 11 am
Sunday, October 4, 2020 10 am
Sisterhood Interfaith Sukkot Luncheon Date TBA 11:15 am
Friday, October 2, 2020:
Sukkot Under the Stars
5:30 pm – Bring a dairy dinner.

Shemini Atzeret

Saturday, October 10, 2020 10 am
– Yizkor Approximately 11:15 am

Simchat Torah

(Erev) Saturday, October 10, 2020 TBA
Sunday, October 11, 2020 10 am
Children’s Service (preschool age) 10:30 am
“YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT, THIS IS WHERE WE HAVE COME TOGETHER. BETH EL CONNECTS US — TO EACH OTHER, TO OUR PAST, AND TO THE COMING GENERATIONS.” DONATE NOW