HOLIDAYS

Home » Worship » Holidays

Coming together to celebrate.

Join us as we observe, honor, and rejoice in spiritual and cultural holidays throughout the year — just as our fore-fathers and ‑mothers have done for hundreds of generations.

Our High Holiday services begin with Selichot and continue through Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. Following services on the first day of Rosh Hashanah, the congregation heads to nearby Owen Fish Park for a moving Tashlich ceremony.

Welcome Sukkot with us in our spacious Sukkah where we hold all Sukkot programs (weather permitting). From early childhood through adulthood, everyone can enjoy the many blessings of our Sukkah, and all generations have the opportunity to shake the lulav and etrog. And just a week later, join us as we rejoice over the Torah during a jubilant Simchat Torah service filled with song & dance.

Light the candles with us on Hanukkah to celebrate the season. Then come in costume to our unforgettable Purim service in which we read the entire Megillah and perform the annual Purim schpiel. Join your entire synagogue family for the Second Seder on Pesach when we retell the story of our exodus from Egypt, act out the plagues (mini-marshmallows for number seven!), and share traditional foods and Seder traditions together.

In late spring we celebrate Shavuot— the anniversary of the day God gave the Torah to the entire Israelite nation assembled at Mount Sinai — and get ready to do it all over again.

HOLIDAY SCHEDULE

Selichot

Saturday, August 28, 2021
In-person at Congregation B’nai Israel, Bridgeport in partnership with Congregations Beth El, Rodeph Sholom, and B’nai Torah. All attendees will be required to wear a mask, regardless of vaccination status.
Program and services will also be available virtually – a link will be sent under separate cover.
Havdalah 8:30 pm
Speaker: Roya Hakakian 8:40 – 9:35 pm
Break 9:35 – 9:45 pm
Selichot Service with area clergy 9:45 – 10:30 pm

Cemetery Service

Sunday, September 5, 2021 10:30 am at Reid Street, Fairfield
In-person

Rosh Hashanah

(Erev) Monday, September 6, 2021 6:45 pm
(First Day) Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Children’s Programming
9:00 am
9:30 am
– Tashlich at Owen Fish Park, Fairfield  1:30 pm
(Second Day) Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Children’s Programming
9:00 am
9:30 am
   

Shabbat Shuvah / Vayeilech

Friday, September 10, 2021 6:00 pm
Saturday, September 11, 2021 10:00 am

Kol Nidre

Wednesday, September 15, 2021 6:45 pm

Yom Kippur

Thursday, September 16, 2021
Children’s Programming
9:00 am
– Afternoon Forum 3:00 pm
– Plaque Dedication 4:00 pm
– Yizkor 4:30 pm
– Mincha 5:00 pm
– Neilah 6:40 pm
– Havdalah and Break Fast 7:41 pm

Sukkot

Tuesday, September 21, 2021 10:00 am
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 10:00 am
Thursday, September 23, 2021:
Sisterhood Interfaith Sukkot Luncheon
12:00 pm

Shemini Atzeret

Tuesday, September 28, 2021 10:00 am
– Yizkor Approximately 10:45 am

Simchat Torah

(Erev) Tuesday, September 28, 2021 TBA
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 10:00 am

Purim

Wednesday, March 16, 2022:
Megillah Reading & Costume Parade
TBA
Thursday, March 17, 2021:
Megillah Reading
7:30 am

Passover

Friday, April 15, 2022:
1st Seder at home
No evening services.
Saturday, April 16, 2022:
Community 2nd Seder at Beth El
TBA
Saturday, April 16, 2021
1st day
10 am
Sunday, April 17, 2022
2nd day
10:00 am
Friday, April 22, 2022
-7th day
Saturday, April 23, 2022
Yizkor

10:00 am

10:00 am

Shavuot

Sunday, June 5, 2022 10 am
Monday June 6, 2022 10 am
Yizkor 11:15 am

Tisha B’av

(Erev) Saturday, August 6, 2022 TBA
Sunday, August 7, 2022 TBA
“YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT, THIS IS WHERE WE HAVE COME TOGETHER. BETH EL CONNECTS US — TO EACH OTHER, TO OUR PAST, AND TO THE COMING GENERATIONS.” DONATE NOW