HOLIDAYS

Home » Worship » Holidays

Coming together to celebrate.

Join us as we observe, honor, and rejoice in spiritual and cultural holidays throughout the year — just as our fore-fathers and ‑mothers have done for hundreds of generations.

Our High Holiday services begin with Selichot and continue through Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur. Following services on the first day of Rosh Hashanah, the congregation heads to nearby Owen Fish Park for a moving Tashlich ceremony.

Welcome Sukkot with us in our spacious Sukkah where we hold all Sukkot programs (weather permitting). From early childhood through adulthood, everyone can enjoy the many blessings of our Sukkah, and all generations have the opportunity to shake the lulav and etrog. And just a week later, join us as we rejoice over the Torah during a jubilant Simchat Torah service filled with song & dance.

Light the candles with us on Hanukkah to celebrate the season. Then come in costume to our unforgettable Purim service in which we read the entire Megillah and perform the annual Purim schpiel. Join your entire synagogue family for the Second Seder on Pesach when we retell the story of our exodus from Egypt, act out the plagues (mini-marshmallows for number seven!), and share traditional foods and Seder traditions together.

In late spring we celebrate Shavuot— the anniversary of the day God gave the Torah to the entire Israelite nation assembled at Mount Sinai — and get ready to do it all over again.

HOLIDAY SCHEDULE

Selichot

Saturday, September 12, 2020
Virtual program via Zoom in partnership with Congregations Beth El, Rodeph Sholom, and B’nai Torah.
Registration in advance is required. A link will be sent under separate cover.
Havdalah 8:00 pm
Speaker: Abby Chava Stein 8:15 – 9:15 pm
Selichot Service with area clergy 9:15 – 10:00 pm

Cemetery Service

Sunday, September 13, 2020 11:00 am at Reid Street, Fairfield
In-person – masks & social distance will be enforced.

Virtual L’Chaim with Rabbi Kormis

Monday, September 14 5:30 – 6:00 pm
Remote link will be sent

Rosh Hashanah

(Erev) Friday, September 18, 2020 6:30 pm
(First Day) Saturday, September 19, 2020 9:00 am
– Family Service (ages 2-7) 10:00 am
– Junior Congregation (grades 3-6) 11:00 am
(Second Day) Sunday, September 20, 2020 9:00 am
– Family Service (Ages 2-7) 10:00 am
– Junior Congregation (Grades 3-6) 11:00 am
– Tashlich at Owen Fish Park, Fairfield, followed by Nature Walk 1:30 pm
– Drive-in Shofar Blast in Beth El Parking Lot 4:00 pm
 

Shabbat Shuvah / Ha’azinu

Friday, September 25, 2020 6:00 pm
Saturday, September 26, 2020 10:00 am

Kol Nidre

Sunday, September 27, 2020 6:30 pm

Yom Kippur

Monday, September 28 2020 9:00 am
– Family Service (Ages 2-7) 10:30 am
– Junior Congregation 11:30 am
– Teen Forum (Grades 7-12) 12:30 pm
– Afternoon Forum 3:00 pm
– Plaque Dedication 4:00 pm
– Yizkor 4:30 pm
– Mincha 5:00 pm
– Neilah 6:30 pm
– Havdalah and Break Fast 7:23 pm

Sukkot

Saturday, October 3, 2020 10:00 am
Sunday, October 4, 2020 10:00 am
Thursday, October 8, 2020:
Sisterhood Interfaith Sukkot Luncheon
12:00 pm

Shemini Atzeret

Saturday, October 10, 2020 10:00 am
– Yizkor Approximately 10:45 am

Simchat Torah

(Erev) Saturday, October 10, 2020 7:00 pm
Sunday, October 11, 2020 10:00 am
Children’s Service (preschool age) 10:30 am

Purim

Thursday, February 25, 2021:
Megillah Reading & Costume Parade
TBA
Friday, February 26, 2021:
Megillah Reading
7:30 am

Passover

Saturday, March 27, 2021:
1st Seder at home
No evening services.
Sunday, March 28, 2021:
Community 2nd Seder at Beth El
TBA
Saturday, April 3, 2021 10 am
Yizkor 11:15 am

Shavuot

Monday, May 17, 2021 10 am
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 10 am
Yizkor 11:15 am

Tisha B’av

(Erev) Saturday, July 17, 2021 TBA
Sunday, July 18, 2021 TBA
“YEAR IN AND YEAR OUT, THIS IS WHERE WE HAVE COME TOGETHER. BETH EL CONNECTS US — TO EACH OTHER, TO OUR PAST, AND TO THE COMING GENERATIONS.” DONATE NOW